A Year in Review

 “Count it all joy, my brothers,when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing”. James 1:2-4

 

I think I’m always going to have a love hate relationship with the year 2012. It was literally the worst year of my life, yet it was also one of the best. I grew more spiritually and emotionally than any other year of my life and I learned a lot of important lessons this year.

I learned what true love is. I saw the love of my Father in heaven in how He helped me survive the past year, how He provided for all of my needs, how He protected me, and how He is helping me heal. I saw the love of my family, friends, and church family through their many acts of kindness. I also saw what love is not through the actions of my ex.

I learned what real pain feels like. I have lived a very blessed life and have had very few significant losses. Divorce is one of the most painful things I have lived through, but that’s another thing I’ve learned this past year…I am a survivor (just like Destiny’s Child).

I have learned how to truly depend on God and how to not be anxious. I have experienced the peace that passes understanding, and I am better able to now hand over my troubles and worries to God. I know without any doubt that God will always protect me and provide for me. I am incredibly thankful for a Father like Him.

As King Solomon learned and wrote, I have learned that all is vanity. The most important thing in this world is having a relationship with God. Nothing else matters.

I have learned how important hope is. I have experienced a complete loss of hope and someone giving me false hope. I would wish neither on my worst enemy. A life without hope is a sad life indeed.

I have learned that I have the most amazing family, friends, and church family a girl could ask for (well I already knew this, but this year just proved it more). I feel incredibly blessed to have such wise, compassionate, kind, generous people in my life.

I have learned that I do not have to be married or in a relationship to be a happy and valued person. I can be of service to the Lord and to others as a single woman.

I have learned new skills. These include how to car shop, how to clip cat nails, and the penny tire tread test (had to learn that one twice, but I think I’ve got it down now).

I have gained new interests and favorites. I learned this year that I really like the genre of Christian music. I learned I like to zipline (I’ve still only gone once, but I really enjoyed it). I relearned how to crochet. I have gained new favorite Bible verses. These include Zephaniah 3:17, “The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness; He will quiet you by His love; He will exult over you with loud singing” and Psalm 34:18, “The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.”

Finally, I have learned a lot about myself this past year. I now have a stronger sense of who I am and what my strengths and weaknesses are. I am working on improving my weaknesses and learning how to truly love who I am.

I recently “graduated” from therapy, and in my last session I told my therapist that I felt my theme for 2012 was “Survival” and that I wanted my theme for 2013 to be “Fun”. She gave me a better theme though. She gave me an article (which I still need to read) that talks about how people who have been traumatized go through three phases: Victimization, Surviving, and Thriving. So my new theme for 2013 is “Thriving”.

I am really excited about 2013. So far the year has been full of fun and joy. I’ve written down some goals and ways that I plan to thrive in 2013. They are as follows:

  1. Continue to grow closer to God.
  2. See more live music. I truly love music, and since I live in a city that revolves around the music business I figure I should take advantage of this.
  3. Be more financially responsible.
  4. Visit friends I haven’t seen in awhile that live close to me (this means you Knoxville, Memphis, Columbia, Decatur, and Cookeville, etc.).
  5. Have as much fun as possible and seek out joy.
  6. Learn new skills (i.e. how to shoot a gun, how to sew, etc.).
  7. Lose 20 lbs and/or complete the Couch to 5k program.
  8. Read entire Bible as described here http://www.faughnfamily.com/2012/11/01/reading-bible-kindle/ (Not on a Kindle since I don’t have one, but reading the Bible however much I want each day and not seeing it as something I “have” to read.)
  9. Travel somewhere new. I love to travel. I love airports. I love flying.

Thank you 2012 for teaching me how to survive, but now I’m into 2013 and I’m ready to learn how to THRIVE!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandi Cofer
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 08:25:11

    So proud of you, Heather! You seem so happy about 2013, as if you are ready to take on the world.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

The Berean Principle

Personal Opinions Shaped By Scripture

Life and Favor (Job 10:12)

Savoring each moment of Christian living

Jennifer's Jumbled Life

surviving the maelstrom of divorce

Godspacelight

Spirituality, Sustainability, Hospitality and Community

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

A "How to Thrive" Guide After Divorce

taking control of creativity

An OxyMoron Publication

Dating Is Hard

Stumbling Through The Adventures And Misadventures Of Dating With God's Grace

There is Sunshine in my SOUL

beyond lifes disappointments and struggles

Five Minus One

a family of five . . . minus one

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.